tsunami dreams: Biblical interpretation

December 7, 2009

Here is a new angle on the tsunami dreams – since the majority of visitors to this website are still looking up this topic (warning long post)

Dreams were seen as an important means of symbolic communication from God, in the Bible. Dream interpretation was an accepted activity and the most famous dream interpreter in the Bible was of course, Joseph. He had many dreams, made famous by popular musicals but none of them actually involved tsunamis or waves.

(Updated 20.10.2011 – have finally realised there is a Biblical connection to the Great Flood (duh!)

The word “tsunami” doesn’t occur in the Bible, HOWEVER I believe that the closest Biblical symbolism to a tsunami is the Great Flood. Therefore I am putting in the passage about the Flood from Genesis. It should also be noted that although it is hard to search Carl Jung’s writings about a “tsunami” it is easier to find references to a “flood archetype”.

The Great Flood

Genesis 6 – 8

Genesis 6

Increasing Corruption on Earth

1When man began to multiply on the face of the land and daughters were born to them, 2the sons of God saw that the daughters of man were attractive. And they took as their wives any they chose. 3Then the LORD said, “My Spirit shall not abide in man forever, for he is flesh: his days shall be 120 years.” 4The Nephilim were on the earth in those days, and also afterward, when the sons of God came in to the daughters of man and they bore children to them. These were the mighty men who were of old, the men of renown.

5 The LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intention of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. 6And the LORD was sorry that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him to his heart. So the LORD said, “I will blot out man whom I have created from the face of the land, man and animals and creeping things and birds of the heavens, for I am sorry that I have made them.” 8But Noah found favor in the eyes of the LORD.

Noah and the Flood

9These are the generations of Noah. Noah was a righteous man, blameless in his generation. Noah walked with God.10And Noah had three sons, Shem, Ham, and Japheth.

11Now the earth was corrupt in God’s sight, and the earth was filled with violence. 12And God saw the earth, and behold, it was corrupt, for all flesh had corrupted their way on the earth. 13And God said to Noah, “I have determined to make an end of all flesh, for the earth is filled with violence through them. Behold, I will destroy them with the earth. 14Make yourself an ark… of gopher wood. Make rooms in the ark, and cover it inside and out with pitch. 15This is how you are to make it: the length of the ark 300 cubits, its breadth 50 cubits, and its height 30 cubits. 16Make a roof for the ark, and finish it to a cubit above, and set the door of the ark in its side. Make it with lower, second, and third decks. 17 For behold, I will bring a flood of waters upon the earth to destroy all flesh in which is the breath of life under heaven. Everything that is on the earth shall die. 18But I will establish my covenant with you, and you shall come into the ark, you, your sons, your wife, and your sons’ wives with you. 19And of every living thing of all flesh, you shall bring two of every sort into the ark to keep them alive with you. They shall be male and female. 20Of the birds according to their kinds, and of the animals according to their kinds, of every creeping thing of the ground, according to its kind, two of every sort shall come in to you to keep them alive. 21Also take with you every sort of food that is eaten, and store it up. It shall serve as food for you and for them.” 22Noah did this; he did all that God commanded him.

Genesis 7

1Then the LORD said to Noah, “Go into the ark, you and all your household, for I have seen that you are righteous before me in this generation. 2Take with you seven pairs of all clean animals, the male and his mate, and a pair of the animals that are not clean, the male and his mate, 3and seven pairs of the birds of the heavens also, male and female, to keep their offspring alive on the face of all the earth. 4For in seven days I will send rain on the earth forty days and forty nights, and every living thing that I have made I will blot out from the face of the ground.” 5 And Noah did all that the LORD had commanded him.

6Noah was six hundred years old when the flood of waters came upon the earth. 7And Noah and his sons and his wife and his sons’ wives with him went into the ark to escape the waters of the flood. 8Of clean animals, and of animals that are not clean, and of birds, and of everything that creeps on the ground, 9two and two, male and female, went into the ark with Noah, as God had commanded Noah. 10And after seven days the waters of the flood came upon the earth.

11In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life, in the second month, on the seventeenth day of the month, on that day all the fountains of the great deep burst forth, and the windows of the heavens were opened. 12And rain fell upon the earth forty days and forty nights. 13On the very same day Noah and his sons, Shem and Ham and Japheth, and Noah’s wife and the three wives of his sons with them entered the ark,14they and every beast, according to its kind, and all the livestock according to their kinds, and every creeping thing that creeps on the earth, according to its kind, and every bird, according to its kind, every winged creature. 15They went into the ark with Noah, two and two of all flesh in which there was the breath of life. 16And those that entered, male and female of all flesh, went in as God had commanded him. And the LORD shut him in.

 17The flood continued forty days on the earth. The waters increased and bore up the ark, and it rose high above the earth. 18The waters prevailed and increased greatly on the earth, and the ark floated on the face of the waters. 19And the waters prevailed so mightily on the earth that all the high mountains under the whole heaven were covered. 20The waters prevailed above the mountains, covering them fifteen cubits deep. 21And all flesh died that moved on the earth, birds, livestock, beasts, all swarming creatures that swarm on the earth, and all mankind. 22Everything on the dry land in whose nostrils was the breath of life died. 23He blotted out every living thing that was on the face of the ground, man and animals and creeping things and birds of the heavens. They were blotted out from the earth. Only Noah was left, and those who were with him in the ark. 24And the waters prevailed on the earth 150 days.

Genesis 8

The Flood Subsides

1But God remembered Noah and all the beasts and all the livestock that were with him in the ark. And God made a wind blow over the earth, and the waters subsided. 2 The fountains of the deep and the windows of the heavens were closed, the rain from the heavens was restrained, 3and the waters receded from the earth continually. At the end of 150 days the waters had abated, 4and in the seventh month, on the seventeenth day of the month, the ark came to rest on the mountains of Ararat. 5And the waters continued to abate until the tenth month; in the tenth month, on the first day of the month, the tops of the mountains were seen.

6At the end of forty days Noah opened the window of the ark that he had made 7and sent forth a raven. It went to and fro until the waters were dried up from the earth. 8Then he sent forth a dove from him, to see if the waters had subsided from the face of the ground. 9But the dove found no place to set her foot, and she returned to him to the ark, for the waters were still on the face of the whole earth. So he put out his hand and took her and brought her into the ark with him. 10He waited another seven days, and again he sent forth the dove out of the ark. 11And the dove came back to him in the evening, and behold, in her mouth was a freshly plucked olive leaf. So Noah knew that the waters had subsided from the earth. 12Then he waited another seven days and sent forth the dove, and she did not return to him anymore.

13In the six hundred and first year, in the first month, the first day of the month, the waters were dried from off the earth. And Noah removed the covering of the ark and looked, and behold, the face of the ground was dry. 14In the second month, on the twenty-seventh day of the month, the earth had dried out. 15Then God said to Noah, 16“Go out from the ark, you and your wife, and your sons and your sons’ wives with you.17Bring out with you every living thing that is with you of all flesh—birds and animals and every creeping thing that creeps on the earth—that they may swarm on the earth, and be fruitful and multiply on the earth.” 18So Noah went out, and his sons and his wife and his sons’ wives with him. 19Every beast, every creeping thing, and every bird, everything that moves on the earth, went out by families from the ark.

God’s Covenant with Noah

20Then Noah built an altar to the LORD and took some of every clean animal and some of every clean bird and offered burnt offerings on the altar. 21And when the LORD smelled the pleasing aroma, the LORD said in his heart, “I will never again curse the ground because of man, for the intention of man’s heart is evil from his youth. Neither will I ever again strike down every living creature as I have done. 22 While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night, shall not cease.”

There are also quite a few Bible passages about waves. So to help people interpret their tsunami dreams I have listed the main Bible passages which talk about strong, powerful waves. There are a few main themes

– God stirring up the huge waves (Old Testament)

– God calming the waves (OT)

– The story of Jonah: who disobeys a command from God, who then sends massive waves against him and Jonah ends up being hurled into the sea. He then prays to God and is rescued via a large fish!

– And in the New Testament, Jesus naturally calms a storm on the water.  There are a few verses comparing people to waves, which suggests immaturity / infancy, or lack of belief, or worse.

I guess it depends on the individual which, if any of these are relevant! Here are the Bible passages.

Waves in the Bible

Psalm 42: 7

Deep calls to deep, in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me.

Psalm 65: 5-7

You answer us with awesome deeds of righteousness, O God our Savior, the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas, who formed the mountains by your power, having armed yourself with strength, who stilled the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves, and the turmoil of the nations.

Psalm 93: 2-4

Your throne was established long ago; you are from all eternity. The seas have lifted up, O LORD, the seas have lifted up their voice; the seas have lifted up their pounding waves. Mightier than the thunder of the great waters, mightier than the breakers of the sea the LORD on high is mighty.

Psalm 107: 23

Others went out on the sea in ships; they were merchants on the mighty waters. They saw the works of the LORD, his wonderful deeds in the deep. For he spoke and stirred up a tempest that lifted high the waves. They mounted up to the heavens and went down to the depths; in their peril their courage melted away. They reeled and staggered like drunken men; they were at their wits’ end. Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble, and he brought them out of their distress. He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed. They were glad when it grew calm, and he guided them to their desired haven. Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for men.

Isaiah 51:14-16

The cowering prisoners will soon be set free; they will not die in their dungeon, nor will they lack bread. For I am the LORD your God, who churns up the sea so that its waves roar the LORD Almighty is his name. I have put my words in your mouth and covered you with the shadow of my hand I who set the heavens in place, who laid the foundations of the earth, and who say to Zion, ‘You are my people.’ ”

Jeremiah 5:21-23

Hear this, you foolish and senseless people, who have eyes but do not see, who have ears but do not hear: Should you not fear me?” declares the LORD. “Should you not tremble in my presence? I made the sand a boundary for the sea, an everlasting barrier it cannot cross. The waves may roll, but they cannot prevail; they may roar, but they cannot cross it. But these people have stubborn and rebellious hearts; they have turned aside and gone away.

Jeremiah 31:34-36

No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest,” declares the LORD. “For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” This is what the LORD says, he who appoints the sun to shine by day, who decrees the moon and stars to shine by night, who stirs up the sea so that its waves roar the LORD Almighty is his name: “Only if these decrees vanish from my sight,” declares the LORD, “will the descendants of Israel ever cease to be a nation before me.”

Jeremiah 51:41-43

The sea will rise over Babylon; its roaring waves will cover her.

Jonah’s Prayer (Jonah 2)

From inside the fish Jonah prayed to the LORD his God. He said: “In my distress I called to the LORD, and he answered me. From the depths of the grave I called for help, and you listened to my cry. You hurled me into the deep, into the very heart of the seas, and the currents swirled about me; all your waves and breakers swept over me. I said, ‘I have been banished from your sight; yet I will look again toward your holy temple.’

…. And the LORD commanded the fish, and it vomited Jonah onto dry land.

Jesus Calms the Storm (Matthew 8)

Then he got into the boat and his disciples followed him. Without warning, a furious storm came up on the lake, so that the waves swept over the boat. But Jesus was sleeping. The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!” He replied, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the waves, and it was completely calm. The men were amazed and asked, “What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him!”

Unity in the Body of Christ (Ephesians 4: 1-17)

Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming. Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ. From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.

James 1:5-7

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord;

Jude 1:12-14

These men are blemishes at your love feasts, eating with you without the slightest qualm—shepherds who feed only themselves. They are clouds without rain, blown along by the wind; autumn trees, without fruit and uprooted—twice dead. They are wild waves of the sea, foaming up their shame; wandering stars, for whom blackest darkness has been reserved forever.

18 Responses to “tsunami dreams: Biblical interpretation”


  1. […] with the most famous dream interpreter being Joseph (as we know from the musical). Please see my recent post for an example of Biblical verses about large and mighty waves. Possibly related posts: […]

  2. annelie Says:

    I have this reoccuring dream of being in very deep water on a raft.

  3. fiona Says:

    i often have dreams about the sea I’m standing on the sea shore and i can see huge waves coming towards me sometimes they wash over me other times i wake up but as soon as i see the see in my dream i fell afraid because i know whats coming

  4. thebigpicmin Says:

    Thanks for this great collection of passages. My wife just had a dream with an earthquake [I’m thinking Social Revolution] followed by three tsunami waves. Any thoughts what the three waves are?

    I was thinking they might have something to do with God’s coming Judgment on the Priest class.

    http://thebigpicmin.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/gods-shepherd-warning/

    God Bless
    Glenn

  5. Lisa Says:

    I had a Dream on 12/24/2008, of our Lord Jesus Christ. I was watching Jesus come down in bright
    clouds surrounding his whole body and under his feet. I was so happy and with my mind I was speaking to him. I asked him if I could go to him as I was bending to my knee’s. He was not to far away when he came down to earth. Jesus was still surrounded by bright clouds and a bright road appeared in the earth made of clouds. He answered me with his mind, and said not yet. He was wearing a white robe with a gold sash. His hair was brown, shoulder length, and he was smiling. On his right side, he had his arm out-stretched, and three Bears appeared. Two white Polar Bears and one Brown Grizzly Bear.

    The Dream ended and it has been in my mind ever since. Can anyone tell me what it might mean?

    • Jessica Pilcher Says:

      I know from John Paul Jackson white polar bear means religious Spirit.

    • etatiae swart Says:

      Hi lady.
      Please contack me on facebook. I think know what ur dream means. Something sounds very famiar to me in this dream.pleaseee contack me on facebook.
      Etatiae swart. Then i can interpret there. I the bears something to do with unholy trinity. Because i have heard something like this.
      Shalom!

  6. Geri Says:

    Three is the number of completion, (regarding the comment from Glenn).I had a dream of a sunami about two weeks ago. If I want to be fair with myself and others I have to realize that these things have been happening recently and so they may affect our dreams. I also have to realize that these dreams can mean all of the above(whatever was mentioned in this blog)but it can be personal,too.
    Mine took place in an area I am not familiar with. I was visiting a row house(series of houses connected to eachother) with my husband and another family I do not know. When we entered the house I said to myself;”these houses look like a castle(as they were all made of huge blocks of stone.” When we entered my thought was confirmed as the inside was huge with stone walls and castle-like effects.In short, I looked out the window to see if my son and his family arrived and saw a huge wave coming. I became fearful because the rest of my family was not with me and they would be destroyed. I called my son to see if he and his family had left their house but he answered the phone and said everyone was too sick to come. I told him about the sunami and how I was in a ‘fortress’ and that he had no protection where he was. I was distraught and told him to take cover, because I wanted to see them all after this was over.(I see them frequently)As I looked out the window,the sunami was coming closer. Geri

    • Crystal Says:

      I believe your dream is saying basically there is a danger coming you and you husband and that random family found you a place or fortress of protection (in Jesus). You said you looked outside the window to see your son and family outside. This indicates that they have yet to make in the fortress of protection…via outside of God’s protection and are in great danger. I don’t know if your son that was out outside the window is the same son that you called to see if he had left the house, in either cause, he is not prepared nor is he being watchful. When he said they were still at home that indicates he wasn’t to concern for their safety other wise he would have put the whole family in the car and came to the fortress of protection He believes he is find where he is and doesn’t need help….They are in danger of destruction….pray for them to come to Jesus the fortress of protection.

  7. SONYA PANCHI Says:

    Last year 2010, while on flight from New York to Malaysia. I had dreamt of a devastation zone area,where I was standing on top of a mountain looking down at people floting by , cries of help, debris all around. In the midst of all of this, I saw my family pet on a patch of land, wagging her tail as she saw me. I was horrified to see her there!, and told her from afar to wait there. Next I see myself jumping to another mountain which was abit lower than the one i stood on. Tho it looked easy, it wasnt. And then realized in my dream. That i couldnt get to my pet, by then she had moved from her spot. I looked wildly all over for her. And then saw that she had some how reached in to the waters and vanished without trace. When that happened. I burst into tears and woke up crying.
    I was very upset after that, and thru out the rest of the flight duration. And didnt understand till recently what exactly was happening till now. On 3/11/2011. RIP to the Japanese who have perished in this horrific circumstances.

  8. blompz Says:

    Hi
    I had a similar dream to Lisa’s where the Lord Jesus had shoulder length hair and smiling. His face wasa bright with light but I knew Him. And He took me with Him and showed me the earth which was destroyed and was a boiling desert. I also dream about volcanoes, tsunamis and tornadoes.

  9. Christopher Spedale Says:

    There are verses in one of the 4 Gospels about the sea tossing (waves/tsunamis)and that men will be troubled. However, it also says that the coming of Yeshua will be as the time when Noah was sealed up in the Ark by Almighty G-D Himself. But, there is a major, I mean major TSUNAMI coming to wipe out most of the entire east coast of America, its mentioned in Jeremiah, even another one besides the Bible verse that you provided. Florida will be wiped out, unfortunately, too. Pray for this nation. Pray that the majority, or entire body of CHRIST repents, because unless that happens, the end of days is coming upon us, Jacob’s trouble, TRIBULATION. In MATTHEW CH. 24, it says that that AFTER all those troubles(nation rises against nation,famine,pestilence,earthquakes in diverse places,the saints being persecuted for their faith,and/or being jailed, and martyred)that YESHUA HAMESHIAC will come, with the sound of an arch-angel, blow the trumpet and gather the elect from the four corners of the earth. We know that the dead in CHRIST (or HaMeshiach, which is Hebrew for Yeshua’s title, the Messiah, or in Greek, CHRIST ) will rise first, then we who remain will be caught up, and be with the LORD forever. Prepare yourselves, get right with G-D, and stay right with HIM , for only those who repent will be spared(if any will be, scarcely few), for it says in Galatians ch.6 that the works of the flesh(homo-sexuality,whore-mongers, yep, thats right even us straight people who have sex outside of marriage, or view porn,liars, thieves,drunkards, etc…)and those who practice them shall not, I repeat, not go to heaven, inherit heaven, same thing, and thats not what CHRIST wants for any of us, so be zealous and repent. In Revelation ch.2-3, Jesus says that HE will spew or spit all lukewarm Believers out of HIS mouth. Don’t believe the modern-day prosperity gospel lie. Don’t believe the lie that G-D is ALL grace. Yes, HE is very graceful to those who repent and love HIM(Isaiah 66:1-2)and TREMBLE at HIS Word , but HE is also a G-D of justice, and equality, meaning, equal opportunity punisher of sin, and the wages of sin is death, and when sin gives full-bith, leads to death. If CHRIST has been merciful and spared you, don’t go back to your old ways, or as a dog returns to his vomit, as it says in 1st or 2nd Peter. It says in 2nd Chronicles 7:14 ” if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. “- NIV Bible

    The choice is yours, and mine. Will you continue to sit idly by, apathetically, as the world falls deeper into the claws of Satan? Or will you pray? Will you fast, and afflict your soul(that in Jewish frame-of mind means to fast), will you do your part in spreading the Gospel to the all four corners of the earth by: tithing(your stealing from and robbing from G-D if you don’t tithe, sorry, but its true(Malachi in Old Testament),also, your money/finances is under a curse if you don’t tithe to the LORD . Spreading the Gospel by sharing the plan of Salvation(Romans ch.10 verses 9-10), praying for this nation to repent, pray for the Body-of-CHRIST to wake-up and stop sleeping, and start working and serving G-D. You can also start standing up for the Word of G-D by standing up against abortion, sin, sexual immorality by telling others that it is WRONG and it is SIN. Pray for this nation like never before, fast, pray and ask G-D to have mercy on us and for the true Believers in YESHUA to repent. Shalom. Accept Christ as your LORD and savior. If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is LORD , and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you shall be saved.

    Ezekiel ch,33
    Watchman-Christopher Spedale


    • Chris,
      I hope you are still out there. I am from Florida and read your post from Feb 6th, 2012 about Florida and Tsunami. I just had my fourth dream about a Tsunami hitting the east coast of Florida. Can you contact me with more information scripturally on what you are saying?

    • Tiffany Says:

      This has spoken to me in so many ways. I just had a dream last night of a tsunami rising up, I could see it and it was massive, coming from the east and I live in Florida. I woke up very shaken asking God to reveal what He meant in my dream. I do believe we are in great danger and this world is coming to an end. Makes me want to rethink my way of life and the simple non-important things I worry about on a daily basis, asking myself whay I am really doing for The Kingdom and wondering if I have whole heartedly repented of my sins?? Thank you for sharing this. It’s time for me to stand up for the word of God and stop wasting time! I will be praying like never before!!

  10. Conejita Conti-Sutherland Says:

    Hello,
    i constantly dream of tsunami’s.As scary as they are i am always facing them in my dreams.i feel and hear the wave go over me and Im always safe.i can see them coming and run to higher ground buit yet it still catches up.when i reach the highest point in my dream,i can actually see the water go over my house and then it subsides..i never see carnage afterwards its always clean and quiet. one tsunami dream i had i had no choice but to just stand there.when the wave approached a hole in the wave opened up and i walked through it.what does this mean?

    Thanks,
    Conejita Conti-Sutherland


  11. Once you have done all of this, Nfl Jerseys has averaged 11.
    Oakleys sunglass fits exactly and perfectly on your face which helps in enhancing the vision while fishing.
    Buying fake sunglasses in large numbers is ideal for those who easily misplace or break
    things. During that period, Classic Frogskins were some of the buyers.
    Saturday he had 9 rebounds in Game 2, shot 4 of 5 from 3-point range, last night for
    the Raptors.


  12. Thanks, this is a great resource for interpretation. I have been having recurring dreams about waves rushing in and I needed a biblical perspective.

Leave a Reply

