reading or not

November 15, 2009

Oops – missed yesterday’s post because the internet was down. I am having to walk and sit outside the library to get wifi! But this is probably a good thing.

Books on my bedside table:

Advance Australia Where – Hugh Mackay

Cyburbia – James Harkin

The Irresistible Revolution – Shane Claiborne

The Varieties of Religious Experience – William James

The Book of Rapture – Nikki Gemmell

What a nice list of books. If only I were anywhere near reading any of them. Mostly what happens is I buy delicious tantalising books in large quantities and put them optimistically on my bedside table, where they sit for a few weeks or months. The pile grows higher and higher and once it becomes an impossible tower I take some of them away and put them in the “book room”. Meanwhile a lot of internet surfing gets done.

Yes we do have a dedicated room in the house just for books. Most of the people in this family do not have their own room, and yet the books do. Unfortunately it’s a tiny closet and does not allow any room for actual reading. The next step, in a bigger house, would be to create a proper library with an armchair and nice lighting. Computers would be forbidden there.

I’m not sure that’s actually going to happen, given the IT revolution and the impending end of print media. But maybe we will preserve the books as a kind of relic or museum piece.

One Response to “reading or not”

  1. gbroughto Says:

    What a nice list of books. If only I were anywhere near reading any of them. Mostly what happens is I buy delicious tantalising books in large quantities and put them optimistically on my bedside table, where they sit for a few weeks or months. The pile grows higher and higher and once it becomes an impossible tower I take some of them away and put them in the “book room”. Meanwhile a lot of internet surfing gets done.

    this describes my life perfectly… and I am a Ph D student…

Leave a Reply

