the old microwave

November 8, 2006

There is no microwave in my office at work. My coffee was cold so I went next door into the physio’s office to heat it up. I asked the receptionist if I could use her microwave and she said “It’s very old” and it was. This ancient microwave was probably worth nothing. You couldn’t give it away let alone sell it. And yet, it heated up my coffee. Now some might say I really should get the latest model of microwave because it has so many new features and it heats things better, in so many different ways and more conveniently. It heats up all sorts of different things not just coffee and it looks so much nicer than the old one.

But I would rather think in terms of having just what you need. If an old microwave does the job you want, then it’s the best microwave for you. Don’t think about getting the best microwave, but one that does the job.

The advertising-driven consumer society says “Get more, you owe it to yourself to have the best of everything” but that is how it can continue to exist. There is such a pressure it almost feels like a duty or obligation.

I’m giving myself permission to neglect this duty. I don’t have to have a new microwave, the best car or the most luxurious holiday destination. I just need to have one that does the job.

3 Responses to “the old microwave”

  1. MitMoi Says:

    -> -> Fellow NaBloPoMo Participant. I saw, I clicked, I read.

    I can totally identify with this. For me the biggest help was taking a Crown Financial course and learning what God’s rules were regarding finances. He’s definately in the, “You only need what works, not the best” category. I’m reminded of the verse that says, store not things here on earth that will rust or moths will eat, but instead work towards those things waiting for you in the next life. (paraphrased by -moi)

  2. Awesome Mom Says:

    Amen to that! We have it so good that sometimes we focus too much on what we do not have rather than what we do have.

  3. Carol Says:

    Would your company reimburse you if you bought one and brought it in? I’ve seen them at Target for as cheep as $39. Or maybe everyone could kick in a few bucks? Seems kinda nuts in this day and age that your office doesn’t have a micro.

Leave a Reply

