milling: the randomness of toddlers

November 6, 2006

It’s harder to post every day than I thought. And the posts are coming out a bit unformed, but never mind, I’m going to persist anyway…

How best to describe the motion of a toddler around the room? I would say, milling. But one cannot mill alone, milling really requires multiple millers. That’s why having twins is so great, they can mill around the room. And going visiting is even better, we can get all our babies together for milling.

There is a really charming randomness about the activities of a toddler. Mine are particularly good at playing on their own, and as I sometimes get caught up with the computer I feel guilty about neglecting them. However, I’m sure they don’t actually feel neglected and they are quick to let me know if they do. They’re quite happy just doing the random thing.

The thought process goes something like this: ‘Oh, here’s this toy again so I might stand up and walk over here, carrying it… I’m pretty good at this. Oh, here’s this other toy, I can bang them together, that’s a nice noise. Now I’ll throw the first one away, haha a really loud noise. OK, here’s my brother, hi bro, maybe I can pull him over if I grab his hair hard enough…’

And on it goes. Perhaps if you had enough toddlers in a room you might get Brownian motion? It’s fun to watch.

2 Responses to “milling: the randomness of toddlers”

  1. Awesome Mom Says:

    I have an 11 month old baby too. He does not really mill all that much since he has an older brother that helps direct his play. It is kind of funny that often his ideal of playing with a toy is to put it in his mouth, drop it and then find another toy to put in his mouth.


  2. This is funny. I have two millers myself. One, though, tends to scurry from room to room in what appears to be a panic rush of mystery. Nice observation! I was just searching for blogs about twins … new blogger myself. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

