sleep and happiness

August 8, 2006

I have no doubt that sleep causes happiness. I only have to look at my children in the morning after a bad night’s sleep, and then again after a decent nap. I only have to look at myself at 10pm after being up since 4am that morning, and then again the next day after a decent night’s sleep.

There is a complex relationship between sleep and depression – basically it’s an inverse relationship and it’s a circular one. Sleep deprivation often leads to depression and the more depressed you are, the worse the sleep gets. Sleep deprive me for long enough and I develop an intense dislike for a lot of people – luckily it’s short lived.

Leave a Reply

